Caveat Emptor

How is that for a dramatic title, huh?  

You might be wondering why an author on her own book blog might entitle a post Caveat Emptor, or Buyer Beware.  Aside from the obvious attention seeking behavior, I want to share some of my thoughts about the book, Control.  Buyer Beware might be a little harsh, I guess.  How about, Buyer Be Aware?  That still might be a little harsh, oh well, screw it…you get the idea.

Control

Let me say right away, Control is not like other Paranormal Romance novels. You are not going to be given a crash course on New Orleans voodoo while you watch the main characters muddle through magical mishaps, fight deadly enemies with mad jujitsu skills, or fall madly in love because they have great sex. Sorry to disappoint…no, actually I’m not.

Don’t get me wrong, all of that stuff will happen, just not immediately, and not in that order. Sometimes I feel like I don’t get to know the characters I’m reading about because I only get to see them in action. It feels one-dimensional; however, I want my characters to have character. I want to be able to care what happens to the characters in a story, not just read the words on a page. I want to have to remind myself that they are, in fact, fictional.

A great deal of this depends upon the writing style, for me anyway. If I cannot connect with the style of the writer, then I won’t be able to connect with the characters, thus my level of enjoyment is limited. That makes sense, right? That is probably why some people may love an author while others vehemently hate every word they write.

So, here is the deal…I like to read and write about things that make me laugh, even in serious moments. I love action, interactions, and drama.  However, I want to see more than man vs. man, or man vs. nature; I want to see more plot lines featuring man vs. self.   So sue me, I like existentialism. Stay with me, don’t run screaming just yet. Existentialism doesn’t always have to be like Moby Dick or Jean Paul Sarte.  I just want to see my characters dig in a little deeper, struggle with what is inside as well as out.

Let me be clear, I am not trying to sell you on some grandiose idea of a Paranormal Romance that will be delving into deep existential or philosophical concepts. In actuality, I probably used more humor than is most often found in a Paranormal book. I tried to make my characters very modern; therefore, the speech, dialogue, and perceptions are modern as well. The biggest difference between Control and other books in this genre is that the paranormal aspect of the story develops along with the characters. It is meant to be a gradual development that culminates into something wholly unexpected…at least I hope it does, anyway. 🙂

Don’t worry, there is plenty of hot, steamy, sex… 

So…if this sounds intriguing to you, then you are very likely a gifted and talented person, who appreciates things that are unique and original. You are also my new BFF, whether you know it or not.  Take a peek at this chapter excerpt to get a sense of my writing style, and hopefully I’ll see you around!

Leave a Reply

