Okay, I’ll Come Clean…

If you’ve read my Author’s Bio, you are well aware of my stubborn refusal to be normal. Don’t get me wrong, normal has its place…I have to be mostly normal when I attend school activities and functions with my little ones, although we frequently get odd looks from other parents. It might have something to do with the fact that you can hear the bass thumping as we jam to old-school rap in the Pimpin’ Mini. Wait…I’m getting ahead of myself. I’m trying to keep a tight rein on my normal, albeit generally, abnormal thought process.

Maybe I should just start from the beginning: 

Me, looking properly wistful and sincere...

Me, looking properly wistful and sincere…

I am the youngest of three children and the only girl.  Oh, please don’t get the impression that I was coddled, I don’t think my brothers ever realized I was a girl until a few of their friends did. Naturally…just as things started to get fun. I have an incredibly large and close-knit extended family (Seriously large…I’m talking around fifty first cousins, here), and I’m pretty sure my sense of humor is genetic.

So, that’s me…it might look as if the photographer caught me at a particularly pensive moment, maybe you are wondering what I was thinking. Well, the photographer was me, this was my first self-portrait as a matter of fact. As to what I was thinking; I was hoping that I nailed the focus (I did), and I was thinking how much I hate the feel of makeup.

Yes, I really hate makeup. However, I just celebrated my fortieth birthday and I would rather suffer through a bit of war-paint than look like an old hag. Pfft…old hag, my ass! I look damn good, although I can’t take all of the credit, the photographer is very talented. Do you see what I did there? Heeheehee.

Alright, now you know I’m a photographer as well as a writer! This is starting to get a little easier as I go along. Who knows, by the end of this post, I might be telling you what size bra I wear, or where my husband and I went on our first date. Hey, maybe we can all be total BFFs, we can have sleepovers and braid each other’s hair. Probably not, but if you like to cook , I can give you some pretty amazing recipes.  What, don’t you believe me?  Well, try this on for size:

Chicken Enchilada Cupcake

Not too shabby, huh? I am sad to say that I haven’t added any new recipes in almost a year, but in my defense, I have been a little busy. After all, I did write a book, take a few photos here and there, and I am married with four children.

Oh, have I not mentioned that? You want to know why? I saved the best for last, of course!

I have been married for twelve years to the man who made me think of forever. He is my best friend, my biggest cheerleader, and he has the uncanny ability to make me laugh even when I want to pinch his head off! It’s all good though, because I make him laugh too. When we first met, we hung out as friends for several months. Then, one golden morning, as we sat on a New Orleans balcony nursing a hangover with a steaming hot cup of coffee; we fell in love.

Ironically, we weren’t sure if we wanted kids, but fate intervened. Obviously, since we now have four! After our oldest was born, it took us about three months to realize that we wanted a few more and we have been blessed with three precious boys and one beautiful girl.

Whew! That was cathartic!

You now know a little about me, how about I tell you a little about Control, the first book in The Soul of Voodoo Series.

I don’t know if other writers have had the same amount of trouble describing their book as I have, but I’ll be honest, the synopsis totally sucks! The thing about this series, is that even though the story is dramatic, the telling is comedic. If you’re confused upon reading that, then just imagine how I feel trying to explain it to potential readers! After struggling to make it fit in with other Paranormal Romance books, I threw in the metaphorical towel and created a brand spankin’ new genre for it: Paranormal Romantic Comedy.

Pretty soon, PRC books are going to be the hottest thing…you heard it here first!

The fact that it has a comedic component, however, isn’t the only thing that makes it difficult to summarize for potential readers. The plot is subtly woven through the book in such a way that the reader may not be completely aware of what happened until it is revealed. I’m tricky like that. 🙂  Therefore, I can’t go into too much detail about the story without giving away spoilers. I worked way too hard on that plot to spoil it with a careless sentence or two!

You know what? You just need to read it for yourself…then maybe you can help me come up with a good way to summarize it for everyone else! Oh yeah, the second book is starting off with a bang and it is going to be loaded with more fun, action, and hot monkey sex…never forget about the hot monkey sex.

Leave a Reply

